Ebook review: Stand and Deliver by Adrian Marshall


Publication Date: February 10, 2014

From the dust cover: “Picture the scene; in my early fifties I was made redundant from the world of IT, and judging that there was more chance of me seeing Lord Lucan riding Shergar to victory in the next St. Leger, than continuing in my chosen trade, I bade a fond farewell to the computer business and took the next logical and blatantly obvious career move. I would be a Chinese Takeaway Delivery Driver.

These are some of my experiences, in no particular order, as an ‘Oriental Comestible Transportation Executive,’ with liberal scatterings of general observations on life, the universe and everything. Most of the stories contain a certain percentage of poetic license, plus necessary name, location and setting changes, but there is more than a grain of truth in them all.”

About the author: “I am a retired male living in the UK. That is enough about me; let’s get on with the more interesting subject of BOGOF the Supermarket Cat. Please visit BOGOF’s web site at http://bogofthesupermarketcat.co.uk for FREE Wallpaper/Background, to contact me, Hilda, or BOGOF, and find out about BOGOF’s next exciting adventure.”

My Ebook review: whilst I have not read the BOGOF series my attention was grabbed by the author’s page. “Stand and Deliver” is a short, funny and also interesting ebook that sees our delivery driver get into and out of all sorts of fixes. Whether or not it is based on real life was not really the point for me, the anecdotes have the flavour of the absurd nonsense of everyday life.
My only gripe was that it was all over too soon.

Did I enjoy it?: Yes, there are a number of very funny anecdotes, some excellent observations and I never knew that the prawn crackers were made that way! A happy, jolly and quick read.

Leave a Reply

