Ebook review The Celix of Cthulhu by Roman Banjo

Today’s Ebook review is of a ‘bizarro fiction’.

From the dust cover: It was a dark and stormy night. A lone hitman goes on what he thinks is his final job. Unfortunately the storm is never-ending. What was supposed to be a simple payday spirals into the absurd. Now the hitman and an odd cast of characters must unravel the mysteries of the mystical MacGuffin, The Celix of Cthulhu!

My Ebook review: what starts as a seemingly dark and murky story descends into a crazy weird smörgåsbord of delightful nonsense. At first I was confused by some of the early action but as the book continued it became very clear that this is a part of the underlying style and theme of the piece. The author’s description of this work is very apt as absurdity builds and comes unexpectedly and I was reminded of feel of the film “From Dusk Til Dawn”.

The author describes this as bizarro fiction which is very apt, but equally it moves in spatterpunk territory at times but I chose to start this Ebook review with the author’s own choice.

This is not a book to take too seriously, but it displays a vivid imagination and the story is well told and I could imagine Bruce Campbell playing the starring role in the film version in the style of Ash in “Army of Darkness” (“My name is Ash and I am a slave. Close as I can figure, the year is thirteen hundred A.D and I’m being dragged to my death. It wasn’t always like this, I had a real life, once. A job.” Superb film).

Leave a Reply

