Another early morning!

The wind has been gusting merrily overnight here in springtime Denmark. I say spring because we saw the sun two days back to back. This whether exersion being too much, we are due for more snow. It reminds me of the time I visited twelve years ago coming to see if I wanted a job over here and the constant cold wind bit into my forhead as I tried to walk the sunny streets still caked in salt. The salt remnants give the city a slightly grey and washedout look in the sun. A few good downpours and all that will be history and the buildings will shine magnificently. For now, though, I have learned not to go out without my hat.

So, I am sat, without my hat indoors in the warm, listening to the wind and seeing the start of the daylight brightening up the house from the outside. I took a few moments checking over some ebooks that I reviewed and got a little bit morning grumpy about what I saw on the “About Speed Reading : Underground Secret Tricks And Little
Dirty Tactics To Millionaire Speedreading” by Jessica Williamsford page.

From my perspective this is a fine guide to speed reading that contained some good new tips. It was nicely presented and easy to read, making this a nice,
friendly, useful guide to an important tool.

Unfortunately, it seems that the majority of the other reviewers took their time to find reasons to criticise. It struck me as odd that folk who reviewed a speed reading book said that they knew most of this stuff before AND got tetchy about typos. This seems like a paradox. Surely the point of speed reading is to see the wood for the trees and not to get caught up in the small things. That was my perspective. In fact, I have been interested in speed reading for years and years and years. Speed reading is a tool that has been around since Evelyn Wood’s Reading Dynamics in 1959 according to Wikipedia and I have read much on the subject and latterly sped read much on the subject. It is clear that there is nothing fundamentally ground breakingly new happening in the arena of speed reading but there are always incremental improvements and modifications to techniques that are worth considering. There is also a continuous stream of ‘newbies’ to speed reading. We were not born able to speed read, we did not even have the concept of reading. It is also true that one can find much of this online, this is true of probably every subject covered in self-help and howto books. I cannot think of a subject that will not have hundreds of webpages devoted to it. The value of a book is clearly that it has been compiled and digested and the reader is able to benefit from the author’s expertise rather than reading a diverse series of open-source thoughts on a subject.

So to me this little book remains a neat speed read and I hope that the author uses the criticism constructively. I will close my morning rant now before the snow comes!

Leave a Reply

